• Slovenščina
  • Ελληνικά
  • Slovenčina
  • Български
  • Română
  • Italiano
  • Magyar
  • English


Central European Initiative – Executive Secretariat

The Central European Initiative (CEI), composed of 18 Member States, is the largest and oldest forum of regional cooperation in Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe. Its origin lies in the creation of a Quadrangolare on 11 November 1989 in Budapest by Italy, Austria, Hungary and the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (SFRY). In 1992, the organisation was named Central European Initiative when a number of countries were admitted as Member States. Current Membership: 18 Member States (9 EU and 9 non-EU Member States): Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.
Once predominantly oriented towards policy dialogue, the CEI has progressively added economic growth and human development as pillars of cooperation. Its main focus is on capacity building, sharing experience and know-how transfer in order to achieve cohesion in areas of mutual interest and assist its non-EU CEI Member States in consolidating their economic and social development in view of further integration and accession to the European Union.
The CEI has managed 17 EU funded projects since its inception with a total value of 10.020.000 Euro managed by the CEI, both as Lead Partner and Partner in different EU programmes (Central Europe, Culture 2007-2013, INTERREG, MED Programme, South East Europe, and FP7).

Partner type:

Partner logo: